EAA Volunteer and Teacher of the Year Awards

Each year, Engineers Alliance for the Arts is proud to honor individual volunteers and teachers that have made a difference in our Student Impact Project. These recipients are presented with an award and receive recognition at the fall SEAONC meeting. We applaud and congratulate all past winners of the awards.

William S. Kaplan Volunteer of the Year
2019: Derek Sereno
2018: Karen Vogt-Wilcox
2017: Charlotte Wong
2016: Dave Miller
2015: Patrick Murren
2014: Clifton Neff
2013: Tayrn Williams
2012: Derrick Lind
2011: Will Kotterman and Laura Whitehurst

EAA Teacher of the Year
2021: Karen Melander
2019: Angelene Warnock
2017: Joseph Alter
2016: Daniel Pasker
2015: Keith Carames
2014: —
2013: Gigi Torres
2012: Linda O’Connor
2011: Karen Melander

Click here to find stories of past award winners.

Volunteers make an impact on the lives and future of young students

Our program would not be possible without the valuable time donated by our generous and talented volunteers. These volunteers take time out of their busy days to nurture, educate, and inspire students to explore careers in engineering and design. They are truly building the future of our industry and we thank them for their efforts.

Katie Boisseree, Degenkolb Engineers

Jamie Brownell, ZFA Structural Engineers

Tom Byrne, Property Capsule

Brylle Cabacungan, KPW Structural

Sudhir Chaudhary, Chaudhary and Associates

Michael Cole, RSA Civil Engineering

Maria Danielides, Maria Danielides Architect

Kelly Dudek, Degenkolb Engineers

Jeremy Edwards, XL Construction Corporation

Louise Foulkes, Build Change

Nate Hall, Tuan & Robinson Structural Engineers

Nicholas Sitar

Ryan Hayashida, Ratcliff Architects

Ian Heid, ZFA Structural Engineers

Darrick Hom, Estructure

Grant Iwamoto, KPW Structural

Robert Keene, Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger

Julia King, RSA Civil Engineering

Amy Kordosky, Degenkolb Engineers

David Lam, Degenkolb Engineers

Rainbow Lin, Degenkolb Engineers

Marshall Ma

Dave Martin, Degenkolb Engineers

Dave Miller, Degenkolb Engineers

Erik Moore, Degenkolb Engineers

Dan Morosan, ZFA Structural


Patrick Murren, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill

Megan Nazareno, Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger

Simon Ng, Tuan & Robinson Structural Engineers

Priscilla Nguyen, Degenkolb Engineers

Robert Norton, Nishkian Menninger

Kellen O’Connor, Cushing & Associates

Brian Phan, Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger

Vadim Podrobinok, Vadim Podrobinok Architect

Ariane Rosario, BuroHappold Engineering

Tais Shiratsubaki, Liftech

Curtis Siegfried, Degenkolb Engineers

Derek Serano, ZFA Structural Engineers

Rafael Turcios, RSA Civil Engineering

Dema Tzamaras, Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger

Fen Wang, ZFA Structural Engineers

Jack Wegleitner, Degenkolb Engineers

Karen Vogt-Wilcox, Simpson, Gumpertz & Heger

Isaac Williams, Tipping Structural

Charlotte Wong, Forell Elsesser Engineers

Simon Wong, Degenkolb Engineers

Our Volunteers Hail from these Participating Firms

The Student Impact Project is taught by active engineers, designers and construction professionals. These volunteers donate 100% of their time to teach in classrooms and help students understand their industry. Without the support and encouragement of their employers, they wouldn’t be able to do this important work with so many students.

Below is a list of organizations who have had employee volunteers involved with EAA. We see these fi rms as true leaders in their communities and industry, and we thank them for their continued support of EAA, our participating teachers and students and, especially, their hard working employees who donate so much of their time to make our programs such a success.

Contact us today to learn how to add your organization to this list of generous sponsors and volunteers.

Allana Buick & Bers


CDM Smith

Chaundhary & Associates

Computers and Structures, Inc.

Cornerstone Structural Engineering Group

Cushing Associates

Degenkolb Engineers

DPR Construction

East Bay Municipal Utility District


Forell/Elsesser Engineers, Inc.


Holmes Structures

H.J. Brunnier Associates


HNTB Corporation

Interactive Resources

Jax Kneppers Associates, Inc.

Jon Brody

KPFF Consulting Engineers

KPW Structural Engineers, Inc.

Liftech Consultants Inc.

Luk and Associates

MCG Architecture

Nabih Youssef Associates

Nishkian Menninger

NonMas Architecture

Paradigm Structural Engineers, Inc.


Port of San Francisco

Ratcliff Architects

RDH Building Science, Inc.

RES Engineers

RSA Civil Engineering

Rutherford & Chekene

Sheerline Structural

Signet Testing Labs, Inc.

Simpson Gumpertz & Heger (SGH)

Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP (SOM)

Structural Solutions, Inc.

Structural Vision

Thorton Tomasetti

Tipping Structural Engineers


Vadim Podrobinok Architect

Walker Construction

Walter P Moore and Assoc.

Watry Design

ZFA Structural Engineers